Pakistan News

Punjab Politics: Asad Qaiser named NA Speaker, Ch Sarwar nominated as Punjab Governor

LAHORE: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has named former speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly as Speaker of the National Assembly, whereas, Chaudhry Sarwar has been selected for the seat of Punjab Governor.


The announcement was made by PTI Vice President Shah Mehmood Qureshi in Islamabad on Friday.


Qureshi also announced that the party has also nomianted PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi for Punjab Assembly Speakership.


Replying to a question regarding appointment of next Punjab chief minister, the PTI leader remarked that final name will be revealed by party chief Imran Khan.


Shah Mahmood Qureshi said PTI will hold a meeting of all the party MNAs and the allies on Monday to discuss future strategy in the process of formation of government. He said the party has also assigned some senior party leaders the task of coordinating with elected members of the party.


He said Pervez Khattak will be in contact with the party s elected members in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and the erstwhile FATA areas, Dr. Arif Alvi with lawmakers-elect from Sindh, Shafqat Mahmood with the members of central Punjab, Chaudhry Sarwar with western Punjab, Amir Kiani with PTI elected leaders from northern Punjab, and Shah Mahmood Qureshi will coordinate with the PTI elected members from southern Punjab.


Earlier, talking to newsmen at Bani Gala, PTI Senator Faisal Javed said Imran Khan will take oath of the office of Prime Minister on August 18.



President has summoned the session of National Assembly on 13th August (Monday) at 10:00am in the morning. The first sitting of the session will see the newly elected MNAs taking oath of their office. Outgoing Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq will administer oath to the newly elected members. This will be followed by the elections of speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the house.


Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has nominated its Chairman Imran Khan for the slot of leader of the house while PML (N) President Shahbaz Sharif has been fielded as joint candidate by the opposition.


PTI is yet to name its candidate for the slot of the deputy speaker.


Meanwhile, special counters have been set up at National Assembly secretariat to facilitate and guide the newly elected members of the assembly. These counters will help the elected lawmakers to get membership cards of the assembly and other information.


The counters will remain open from 10 a.m. to five p.m.



Asad Qaiser Khan has remained the 14th speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly between 2013 and 2018. During General Election 2018, he has won National Assembly seat from NA-18 constituency of Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.


Asad Qaisar is one of the founding and prominent workers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in KPK. He was also the president of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, until 2013 where he had to resign due to his election as speaker, a role which PTI claims should be neutral.


He was born on 15 November 1969 in Swabi District of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He belongs to a very respected family in the village of Marghuz, Swabi District. He received his early education from Government higher secondary school in Marghuz, and later graduated from University of Peshawar.


Asad Qaiser joined PTI in 1996 and began his career in PTI as a worker and rose to the rank of district president of Swabi. He was initially appointed as the provincial President of PTI in 2008. The office he held till 2011 when the provincial leadership was dissolved by chairman PTI Imran Khan prior to the Intra-Party elections.


In March 2013, he won the intra party elections. In the 2013 general elections he stood from NA-13 SWABI-II and PK-35 SWABI-V where he was elected as legislator from both but he held on to PK-35 SWABI-V constituency of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly against his candidate from PML-N, and then got elected by the provincial assembly, as Speaker of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and served till 2018.



Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar is a senator and former British Member of Parliament who served as Governor of Punjab, from 2 August 2013 until his resignation on 29 January 2015. Sarwar is currently PTI’s Punjab Organiser. He previously served as a member of the House of Commons of the United Kingdom.


A successful businessman, philanthropist and politician. Mohammad was born in Faisalabad, and moved to Scotland in the mid 70’s to join his wife Perveen with whom he now has four children. After arriving in Scotland he became successful in the Scottish Wholesale sector, and then went into politics becoming Britain’s first Muslim MP and Scotland’s first ethnic minority MP.


He renounced his UK citizenship in August 2013 following confirmation for a largely ceremonial position of governorship representing the conservative Pakistan Muslim League (N).


Chaudhry Sarwar resigned from the position on 29 January 2015 days after criticising the government’s foreign policy. He announced his defection to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf on 10 February 2015.


On 3 March 2018, he was elected as a Senator from Punjab.

Nawaz’s assets: Imran slams Sharif family after British media exposes assets of Nawaz sharif in London
Pakistan largest host of refugees in world: UNHCR
Dutch lawmaker cancels blasphemous caricatures contest

Leave Your Reply