Pakistan News

PML-N govt expands cabinet at fag end of five-year term

ISLAMABAD: With thirty-four days before its five-year term comes to a close on May 31, the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s (PML-N) five leaders took oath as ministers.

Marvi Memon, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Anusha Rehman and Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhary took oath as federal ministers, whereas Leila Khan was sworn as the Minister of State.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to them.

Earlier in the day, Adviser to Prime Minister Miftah was sworn in as the new federal minister for Finance, Revenue and Economic Affairs.

His appointment comes hours before the PML-N government’s last budget scheduled to be presented in the National Assembly Friday evening.

The new finance minister succeeded Ishaq Dar, who has been declared a proclaimed offender over failure to stand trial for corruption charges. He has been abroad in connection with treatment since October 2017.

The incumbent government is going to make a history by presenting its sixth consecutive Federal Budget for the year 2018-19, with an estimated outlay of around Rs 5.5 trillion.

It will be a hallmark of the incumbent PML-N government to have presented six consecutive budgets during the five years of its democratic tenure from 2013-2018.

PM Imran’s ‘sahiba’ comment sends a message that being a women is an insult, Said Bilawal Bhutto
Asia Cup 2018: India-Afghanistan match ends in tie
Ban on govt jobs aimed to stop pre-poll rigging, ECP tells SC

Leave Your Reply