Pakistan News

Pakistan declare first innings on 310-9 in only Ireland Test

DUBLIN: Pakistan declared their first innings on 310 for nine on Sunday’s third day after being sent into bat by Ireland in the hosts inaugural men’s Test at Dublin’s Malahide ground.

Test debutant Faheem Ashraf top-scored with 83 and together with Shadab Khan (55) put on 117 for the seventh wicket.

Middlesex paceman Tim Murtagh led Ireland’s attack with four wickets for 55 runs from 25 overs.

But hopes he might take a five-wicket haul on Test debut were scuppered when Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed declared 30 minutes before Sunday’s scheduled lunch break in a stand-alone match where the whole of Friday’s scheduled first day was washed out.

Pakistan 1st Innings (overnight: 268-6)

Azhar Ali c Porterfield b Rankin 4

Imam-ul-Haq lbw b Murtagh 7

Haris Sohail c Porterfield b Thompson 31

Asad Shafiq c Balbirnie b Rankin 62

Babar Azam c Stirling b Murtagh 14

Sarfraz Ahmed c Stirling b Thompson 20

Shadab Khan lbw b Murtagh 55

Faheem Ashraf c N O’Brien b Thompson 83

Mohammad Amir c N O’Brien b Murtagh 13

Mohammad Abbas not out 4

Rahat Ali not out 0

Extras (b1, lb10, nb4, w2) 17

Total (9 wkts dec, 96 overs, 407 mins) 310

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Azhar), 2-13 (Imam), 3-71 (Haris), 4-104 (Babar), 5-153 (Shafiq), 6-159 (Sarfraz), 7-276 (Shadab), 8-304 (Faheem), 9-306 (Amir)

Bowling: Murtagh 25-5-45-4; Rankin 21-3-75-2 (1nb); Kane 20-2-86-0 (1nb); Thompson 22-4-62-3 (2nb, 1w); K O’Brien 6-1-20-0 (1w); Stirling 2-0-11-0;

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Ed Joyce, Andrew Balbirnie, Niall O’Brien (wkt), Paul Stirling, Kevin O’Brien, Gary Wilson, Stuart Thompson, Tyrone Kane, Boyd Rankin, Tim Murtagh

UK lauds Pakistan’s extraordinary achievements in counter terrorism
POLLS 2018: ECP directs to change all four provincial chief secretaries, IGs by tomorrow
Karachi sixth cheapest city in the world: report

Leave Your Reply