Pakistan News

Model Town Carnage: 116 policemen blamed for Model Town massacre sacked

LAHORE: At least 116 police officers including deputy superintendent of police, inspectors and investigation incharge have been removed from their posts on Wednesday for their involvement in Model Town carnage.


According to details, the sacked security personnel have been directed to report police line.


Earlier, Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) Chief Tahir-ul-Qadri had requested Supreme Court (SC) to constitute impartial Joint Investigation Team (JIT) to probe Model Town carnage after which, Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar issued notices to Punjab government, police and prosecution party, directing to submit details regarding the case in 15 days.


Lahore High Court (LHC) had turned down PAT plea seeking summons of ex-prime minister Nawaz Sharif, former Chief Minister of Punjab (CM) Shehbaz Sharif and ten other ministers in the case.


PAT, in its appeal against the ruling of the trial court, had requested LHC to call former ministers Khawaja Saad Rafique, Rana Sanaullah, Khawaja Asif and others in the case.


Police sources had revealed that former Punjab law minister and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Rana Sanaullah was the mastermind of the carnage. Sanaullah had directed to launch operation against the Model Town protesters despite then home secretary Azam Suleman’s opposition, they added.


On June 17, 2014, Punjab police went to remove the barriers placed outside PAT Chief Dr Tahirul Qadri’s residence and MQI Secretariat in Model Town. The MQI workers resisted the move which led to a deadly clash leaving 14 workers dead and dozens injured.

PM Pakistan: Imran Khan to be sworn in as Prime Minister today
Government’s days are counted, Said Asif Zardari
Kulsoom Nawaz discharged from hospital

Leave Your Reply