Pakistan News

CM KPK: Mehmood Khan sworn-in as KP Chief Minister

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Mehmood Khan was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Friday.


Governor KP, Iqbal Zaffar Jhagra, administered oath to the new chief minister in a ceremony held at the Governor House Peshawar.


The ceremony was attended by newly-elected MPAs, expected ministers, senators and government authorities.


On Thursday, Mahmood Khan was elected as new KP CM for next five years by securing 77 votes. Opposition’s candidate Mian Nisar Gul remained second with 33 votes.


Profile of Mehmood Khan

Mehmood Khan was born in Matta Tehsil of Swat in 1972. He got early education from Government Primary School and then obtained certificate of Matriculation from Peshawar Public School.


He did his masters from Agriculture University of Peshawar.


From 2007 to 2012, he had been Nazim Union Council Khariri of Tehsil Matta. He is a prominent politician from Swat who was elected as MPA on PK-9 in 2013.


He held portfolios of sports, culture, and irrigation in the cabinet of Pervez Khattak.


He has also been KP irrigation and home minister but for a very brief period of time.

In general election 2018, he bagged 25,697 votes from PK-9. He is the President of PTI Malakand Division.

Harish and Company Case: Zardari seeks pre-arrest bail in Harish and Company case
Balochistan Politics: Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo sworn in as Balochistan Assembly Speaker
Missing Persons: 36 missing persons’ relatives arrested from outside president’s residence

Leave Your Reply