Pakistan News

PTI forms committee to investigate ‘vote-selling’ MPAs

ISLAMABAD: After expelling 20 lawmakers of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly for allegedly selling votes in the recent Senate elections, PTI has now formed a six-member disciplinary committee headed by KP Chief Minister Pervez Khattak to probe into the matter.

According to show-cause notice served by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the MPAs have been asked to submit their replies in 15 days.

Headed by Khattak, other members of the committee are Atif Khan, Shehran Tarakai, Shehryar Afridi, Shah Farman and Naeemul Haq. The ‘tainted’ lawmakers denied selling votes in the Senate election and said they would take up the matter with the party leadership whose act had damaged their reputation.

On April 18, PTI chairman Imran Khan said that the party made several people successful, but there was no place for those who harmed the workers by selling off their vote.

Those who have been accused of horse-trading include Sardar Idrees, Zahid Durrani, Abdul Haq, Qurban Khan, Amjad Afridi, Arif Yousaf, Javed Nasim, Yasin Khalil, Faisal Zaman, Dina Naz, Nargis Ali, Nagina Khan, Obaid Mayar, Fouzia Bibi, Naseem Hayat, and Samiullah Alizai.

The members also include Meraj Humayun who joined from the Quami Watan Party, Khatoon Bibi, and Babar Saleem joining from the Awami Jamhoori Ittehad, and Wajih-uz-Zaman who joined from the PML-N.

The PTI chairman said that several names were received soon afterward who were involved in selling off their votes. However, the party wanted to reveal their names after thorough investigation.

No increase in rail fares, says Sheikh Rasheed
PM Imran approves inquiry against corrupt bureaucrats
Turkish president Erdogan telephones Imran Khan, Congratulates on election victory

Leave Your Reply