Pakistan News

Federal Cabinet: 16 members of federal cabinet take oath in Islamabad

ISLAMABAD: The 16-member federal cabinet announced by Prime Minister Imran Khan was sworn in at a ceremony held at the President House, Islamabad on Monday.


As per details garnered, President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the newly inducted members of the cabinet, who will assist the prime minister, in managing the country till elections are over.


The ceremony begun with the national anthem and was followed by recitation of verses from the Holy Quran. It was attended by the prime minister, along with other dignitaries.


On Aug 19, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry on popular micro-blogging website Twitter stated that premier has approved a 21-member cabinet comprising 16 ministers and five advisers.

In first phase, names of 15 ministers were announced. Later, PM Imran Khan also added Khusro Bakhtiar as minister of water resources.


As was anticipated, Asad Umar has been awarded ministry of finance whereas Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid has been declared as Khan’s Railways Minister.


Fawad Ch has been nominated minister of Information and Broadcasting Division. The former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s chief minister Pervez Khattak has been given portfolio of defence ministry.


Other the cabinet s members are Farogh Naseem (Law and Justice), Tariq Bashir Cheema (Safron), Shireen Mazari (Human Rights), Ghulam Sarwar Khan (Petroleum), Zubaida Jalal (Defence Production), Aamir Mehmood Kiyani (Health), Shah Mahmood Qureshi (Foreign Affairs), Fehmida Mirza (Inter Provincial Coordination), Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui (IT), Shafqat Mahmood (Education) and Noor ul Haq Qadri (Religious Affairs).


Five advisers are Mohammad Shehzad, Ishrat Hussain, Abdul Razzak Dawood, Amin Aslam and Babar Awan.

COAS, UAE ambassador discuss projects
NAB court dismisses Khawaja Harris’s withdrawal from references plea
PM Secretary: Mohammad Azam appointed as PM Secretary with immediate effect

Leave Your Reply